Skip to main content

Project 75I Race to Build Six New Conventional Submarines for Indian Navy.

| 2020

The Defence Acquisition Council (DAC) headed by defence minister Rajnath Singh on Tuesday announced the selection of domestic and foreign defense companies for the construction of six diesel-electric submarines with air-independent propulsion technology as part of an effort worth more than $7 billion.

Project 75I Race to Build Six New Conventional Submarines for Indian Navy 925 001 INS Kalvari is the first submarine in the P75 Scorpene-Class (Picture source: Indian Navy)

The submarines will be manufactured in India under the Navy’s P75I program and guided by the Ministry of Defence’s Strategic Partnership model, which aims to build indigenous capabilities, a senior ministry official told Defense News.

Two domestic shipyards companies — state-owned Mazagon Dock Shipbuilders Limited and private sector firm Larsen & Toubro — were shortlisted to collaborate with five overseas original equipment manufacturers — Rubin Design Bureau of Russia, Naval Group of France, Navantia of Spain, ThyssenKrupp Marine Systems of Germany, and Daewoo Shipbuilding & Marine Engineering of South Korea.

State-owned MDL already has an active production line and has so far delivered the first two of six Scorpene-class submarines to the Indian Navy. These submarines are being constructed in venture with the French Naval Group.

“The competition between MDL and L&T is expected to be interesting. Mumbai based MDL is already working on the `Scorpene’ class submarines with the Naval Group.”

Presently the Indian Navy is operating two different types of submarines — Russian Kilo-class and German Type 209 conventional submarines. And one `Scorpene’ class submarine is the new one inducted in the Indian Navy.

Copyright © 2019 - 2024 Army Recognition | Webdesign by Zzam