Control of the Australian Defence Organisation is exercised by the Minister of Defence, a Minister for Defence Science and Personnel, and two Parliamentary Secretaries holding responsibility over portfolio matters. The Minister of Defence is assisted by the Secretary od Department of Defence, who administers the civilian department, and the Chief of the Defence Force, who commands the Australian Defence Forces. The total manpower of the Australian armed forces is around 88,600 personnel, including 53,100 active forces, 20,300 Reserve Force and 15,000 Australian Public Service Staff.
The Land Forces of the Australian army is around 26,600 soldiers with the structure:
- Land HQ in Sidney, Logistic Support Force in Sidney, Deployable Joint Force HQ in Brisbane,
- Direct Command Units with 1 Brigade, 3 Brigade, 7 Brigade, 11 Brigade
- Direct Command Units (Reserve) with 4 Brigade, 5 Brigade, 8 Brigade, 9 Brigade, 11 Brigade (all reserve).

Military equipment, armament vehicles of Australian Army of Australia

Cookies settings


Functional Cookies

This site uses cookies to ensure its proper functioning and cannot be deactivated from our systems. We don't use them not for advertising purposes. If these cookies are blocked, some parts of the site will not work.


Please login to see yours activities!

Other cookies

This website uses a number of cookies to manage, for example: user sessions.